Duck, duck, goose! Or choosing a new fabric to sew

Looking back on what I’ve sewn since 2008 I’ve noticed a shift. Quilting cotton was a starter fabric. I didn’t know where to source anything so turned to ebay quite often and I began to teach myself by copying RTW. I wanted to use knit fabric, but didn’t know what to do.  Once the indie sewing world showed me the way, I’ve been on a kick of knit sewing for two years or longer. 

When I could find apparel fabric  goodies like suiting from NOLA, swim fabric, rayon, etc. I would be consumed by fear of messing up. Gradually I learned what different fabric thicknesses are suitable for in terms of sewing for, finishing techniques, opportunities to use different machine feet.

All this is to say I bought two fabrics I haven’t sewn with before and can’t wait to stitch them up! And continue to explore what works for my wardrobe, my body & the Texas summer swelter.

Charleston dress (jumping on that bandwagon) in Nicole Miller scuba.

And a stretch sateen or twill to make another Alberta Street, or something else? Ultimate trousers?

Also a challenge to myself to muslin. Keep sewing, keep learning.

Here’s to a new dress this week, somewhere between the real job, teaching yoga and sewing up orders for men’s yoga shorts.

Comment with how you learned to dive into using different fabrics?

Leave a comment