Living with Intention v.2016

These posts are flooding the feeds and why should I be left out?  I actually wrote out my short list the old fashioned way:

 These intentions apply to all areas of what I do with my time, whether sewing or cooking, yoga and exercise, being a parent, a friend and employee.  In 2015, I repeatedly said how much technology has shifted the world away from some values that I think best not forgotten, like the value in talking to people or trusting in the resources at hand (looking to a YouTube video rather than the instruction manual right beside you).  I’m certainly not condemning technology, but for me I see where despite the connectivity it provides that I can remain isolated if I don’t adapt, but that I’ll be a step ahead if I remember how to do some things the old fashioned way, too.

Less Distraction

So to apply my resolutions to sewing and other creative endeavors simply means that I always proceed with these intentions at hand.  A friend of mine said that she’s scared of her serger, but wishes she knew what to do.  My response was to take a deep breath, pull out the instruction manual and take it slow. “Treat it like yoga!” she thought it was genius.  Essentially, yes.  When I hit something I don’t understand or where I want to learn more, I’m going to choose the right resources right away instead of squandering my precious time in the distraction zone. For me to turn to the web either less often or with time limit and a specific goal.

More Discipline

To expand on the technology gets in the way mindset I hinted at, I’ve gotten lazy.  I see the abundance of what’s out there and get in the “I’m only a drop in the bucket” mentality that what I do is insignificant so why bother.  It’s an opt out to stay lazy. To talk about things, and make plans and fail to put the plans in action and to live them out and open the door to exponential growth, but also potential failure. It’s also a laziness that pervades by letting other things/agendas become more important than my own.  Being a passenger instead of a pilot.  If anything is to come from my creative side,  I’m the one to make it happen with the gifts and the vision God gave me. I won’t be taking the easy road, and I’ll have to get comfortable with pushing myself to take my projects to the next level – either in sewing or in fitness or showing value.

“Love yourself enough to take care of yourself.”

I’ve fallen into the bad habit of fast forward self-care. Its embarrassing to admit how little time I look in the mirror before leaving the house (on school days or anytime there is a rush, really).  I prioritize sleep and making coffee, getting the kids lunches and petting the outdoor cats over make-up, coiffed hair and confident outfits.  (Insert image of crazy cat lady, right?)  I’ve trapped myself in a pattern of behavior that reinforces the scarcity of time: there isn’t enough time to make a better morning routine and things get skipped or diminished. I am worth taking care of and I will make small changes to accept the abundance of time (if I plan for it) to make self-care as important as the mad rush to get out of the house on time.

Practice Gratitude

The past few months I’ve had an internal discussion about how people show others that they are valued and how feeling valued makes a huge difference in the world.  Remembering this intention through all interactions is one small way to influence the world around me into a better place.

 

Leave a Reply

