Playing with Sourdough

A few weeks ago I pulled out a cookbook that I have never used and flipped through. What caught my eye??? Why a recipe for Sourdough Starter! I have been wanting to try it for years, but the effort always made me balk. Feeding a jar of living flour and water??? Sounds more like a science experiment that my kids will inevitably add food coloring into.

As easy as pie crust and without much effort I combined the ingredients and gently covered the bowl with cheesecloth. Left unattended I found a dough explosion an hour or two later. At least that gave it credibility. I kept it on the counter overnight and moved it into the fridge the next day. I knew I wouldn’t have time to make anything with it until the weekend.

The companion recipe in the aforementioned cookbook was Sourdough English muffins. So when I had a few free minutes I combined the sourdough starter with the other ingredients. This also had to rest overnight on the counter. Apparently nothing happens quickly with sourdough. More waiting!

Finally, after some improvisation for a griddle and waiting for a rise I found a worthy end-product.

   
 
A few more weeks of feeding the starter and I tried another recipe tonight for rolls. (Sourdough dinner rolls on Food.com)

These are heavenly on the inside! Probably the best texture for bread that I’ve ever made. 

   
 
Sublime with butter and honey! I fed my starter tonight and with a bit more practice, breads like these will become a staple in my home.
Do you keep a sourdough starter? What are your best tips and recipes?

Leave a Reply

