UFO’s and public shaming

The thorns in my side. The UFO. files, The projects haunting me and taunting me to get on with it already! Sharing them to shame me forward (time permitting.)

NOLA skirt as it is known in my project tally notebook. Blogged about earlier this week. I need to get interfacing for the waistband, re-do zipper and attach the lining, then finish the hem. I am using Burda 8765. I guess looking up tips on the_ pattern might help, it always seems to add a new perspective to the project.

Front of Skirt

IMG_1253 Back of skirt with vent detail s.

IMG_1254 Zipper half way undone because I realized that I did not fellow the instructions to make it invisible.

IMG_1255 Next up an Anthropologie clearance jumpsuit because I LOVE the fabric!!!

IMG_1256 I saw a pleated skirt in the fall, and on this recent shopping trip a blouse with wing sleeves. Then. luckily I saw the jumpsuit on clearance so I snatched it up for the fabric. I’m hoping to repurpose part of it for a skirt and if I’m lucky also a Wiksten tank or some other work wardrobe layering tank. I will  admit that its the first shopping trip where I came hone and promptly found the seam ripper and destroyed my new purchase. Any recommendations for an adaptable work top or a semi-fitted skirt for a poly-jersey?

The Copy-Cat Dress

This dress has been in my wardrobe for a long, long time. I love the 40’s silhouette and how comfortable it is and that it is clingy in areas where I need it (bust) and has ease where I need it.

IMG_1258

When I saw the flame-rayon chalis last summer I knew it would be perfect for a copy, but what I didn’t anticipate was the challenge in duplicating the fit for my current size. These photos do not show it well, and may reveal many chalk marks from trying to adjust the fit.

IMG_1259

Also I thought the flutter sleeve with rouching would be much easier, but the challenge has left me wanting to abandon that idea altogether. And the bust area is the biggest problem. I’m tempted to scratch the idea for the top or possibly seam-rip and readjust the bust pieces – again! I think I modified it a couple times when I started the project last summer. It also tugs at the lumbar curve, is that the swayback adjustment??

This dress will be a wardrobe staple if I can get the fit adjusted properly. I feel like I either need a dressform or a sewing buddy to help me move past these issues. Or maybe just a Saturday in the house alone, without distractions.

2015 Progress

I’ve only  Stashbusted  a few yards so far.  I made two long sleeve Renfrew Cowl’s with leftovers from my holiday Popover Poncho’s and also some softer knit that I bought last spring. Now that I have made a few, I see why it is a wardrobe staple. I have some blue knits that I’m going to whip-up other Renfrew versions, possibly with colorblock since one of the materials is a geometric print.

Last weekend I added bought some rayon to make some shirts.  I’m thinking the Josephine from Made by Rae for the Heather Bailey with the green shot cotton for accent.

IMG_1260 I love the drape of the other viscose/rayon, but do not know what pattern would work best.  These fabrics came from the StitchLab in Austin.  I need to check out the Cloth Pocket though because it looks like they have an incredible selection.  Since I only added  3.5 yards I am counting this as a win.  However, when I finally get to see the Alison Glass in person, I have a feeling I won’t be so lucky. I have a hankering for those colors and am dreaming of designs to decorate with all the time.

Leave a Reply

