Stalling and finishing

I’ll admit that I oscillate between using a pattern and jumping into a sewing idea based on copying an existing RTW garment. Both have taught me important lessons on my sewing journey. I have been entirely self-taught in my seeing endeavors save for the brief portion of middle school Home-Ec where we made shorts.

The sewing knowledge I’ve gained comes from following the big company patterns for kids pjs when I first began sewing six years ago, the handful of books I picked up including Weekend Sewing by Heather Ross and of course the Blogosphere. In the past year, Indie patterns and reading SAL’s have really given me better direction on new techniques and encouraged me to branch out beyond quilting cottons. Needless to say, most times as I’m sewing I feel like I have much to learn, but when I don my custom clothing I don’t care! The want-to has always overridden the do-I-have-the-skills fear. Truly, mistakes don’t seem to matter when the seam ripper is handy.

Which brings me back to finishing, or my biggest stall moment. Typically I rush to finish something because I’m excited for my new garment, but then I regret my hasty finishing once I begin to notice where I could have improved.  I received The Collette Book of Sewing for Christmas and think that it’s techniques will help me to refine my finishing skills, but some things like hand sewing a lining to a hem, are tasks that require patience and a steady hand. They are also forgiving because no one will see them.

I have a skirt using fine fabric bought in New Orleans in 2011 that I’m stalling on right now. It’s been sitting on my sewing desk waiting for me to tackle the finishing, and the waistband. You can just see it to the top of this photo. 

2015/01/img_1224-01.jpgHopefully I will make progress this week.

How did you learn finishing techniques?  Is there a master tutorial you referred to when you were honing your skills?  Any tips for a newbie?

Happy Sewing! (More like, good luck finding time to sew between the chaos of evening kids activities! HA! Such is my life.)

Leave a Reply

